FORTHCOMING 2020/21 Albums / Tracks: 
 - 'Mystic Musk part 1' - Live from the Devil's Triangle compilation (KFJC)
- 'Cry In An Unknown Tongue' - Post-Materialization Music 
- 'Eikasía  Pulse' - Transmigration compilation (Lullabies for Insomniacs) 
 - EP featuring Adele H 
- w/ Lavender Flu  (Meds / Psychic Sounds) 
- Dungeon Jazz Ceremony Nights (lost album finally unearthed!) 

In February 2020, we celebrated over a decade of sonic fermentations, ritual rubs and mysterious perfumes by  presenting new albums followed by several supporting concerts: 

February 27 - Portland, OR @ Hollywood Theater
Mississippi Records & Church of Film present 
'Psychic Sounds 10 Year Anniversary concert'
featuring slideshow retrospective story by Eric Isaacson 
full curated video collage by COF / light totems by James Devereux Tait
with live score by White Gourd / Inspired School of Astral Music / 
Idaho Joe Windslow / The Tenses Trio / Lavender Flu 
Million Brazilians (Original line up of Stone / Jones / Shaver / Corum)

U.S. West Coast:
February 25 - Portland, OR @ XRAY FM for Beautiful Music w/ host DNA
27 - Portland, OR @ Hollywood Theater w / (see above) 
March 4 - Arcata @ Miniplex w/ Black Plate
6 - L.A. @ Dublab - listen here
7 - L.A. @ Non Plus Ultra w/ Sun Araw, Florina, DJ ARB
11 - Santa Cruz @ Sub Rosa w/ Village of Spaces
12 - Los Altos @ KFJC 89.7 (live video & music broadcast / streaming) 
13 - 
14 - San Francisco @ ATA for Other Cinema 


'Urban Fossickated Octave'
12" LP 
(Feeding Tube Records)

"Beautiful new LP (the seventh, I believe), from this wonderfully abstract outfit, who were birthed in the shadow of Smegma (Portland, OR), but have since relocated to Maine. 
The foundational members of the band are Grant Corum (keyboards, vocals, tin whistle, vocals) and Suzanne Stone (alto sax, khene, vocals). For this album, recorded by Big Blood’s Caleb Mulkerin, they are joined by Caleb himself (tape loops & treatments) and Tom Kovacevic (piano & synth), both of whom played together back in Cerberus Shoals. The quartet is hot. Even when it’s a trio. 
The music has a blocked-out and dreamy quality, with jazzoid touches and perhaps less of an ethnographic quality than some of the band’s work. But the music also exists in large chunks, which are moved around in a way that almost recalls (strategically, if not sonically) groups like Colorado’s Mnemonists/Biota collective. There’s a heavy and reflective quality to all the sounds generated and how they are shaped.
The album takes its title from the work of the late visionary artist, Paul Laffoley, from whom the band learned many lessons, and for whom the music stands as a sort of threnody. And the sounds here seem to inhabit some of the same psychic space as Laffoley’s work — creating panels of aural architecture with mandalic balance and flow.
Million Brazilians’ music has lots of depth and a shifting focus that makes it hard to identify as any particular brand of music. But as Duke Ellington so elegantly put it, “If it sounds good, it is good.” And Urban Fossickated Octave sounds more than good. Take it from the Duke. And then some." -Byron Coley, 2019 
'Strange Oasis'  
CD / Digital Download
(Nonlocal Research)



"In 1925, Colonel Percy Harrison Fawcett disappeared in the indescribable jungles of Brazil during an expedition to find the lost city of Z. The city not only represented a sort of El Dorado, but also a state of consciousness in which the traveler and the jungle became a single being. Fawcett describes this ideal moment as the appearance of an inverted oasis; a deserted space in-between lush vegetation where one cannot longer distinguish one plant from the other, water from land or bugs from birds. All of them form a unified harmonic tissue of organic matter.

Strange Oasis by Million Brazilians is in sound what Fawcett dreamed to find. Loaded with layers of tribal percussion, far-out atmospheres and exotic melodies, this record achieves to gather lush and mystery in a tangible fabric of sound. Flutes pass as birds, taps as humid drops, melodies as organic currents. A ritual happening far away and within simultaneously. As the music crowds round us, the sounds take on animal and vegetal flesh to form a strange oasis in the exact middle of the inner jungle." - Nonlocal Research

Psychic Sounds Ensemble 
presents 'Sonic Fermentations' 
12" LP

"The moon is out and it’s time for experiments in the Pacific Northwest. Enter the abode of Smegma Laboratories, dwelling of Ju Suk Reet Meate & Oblivia (The Tenses) whom are active in Los Angeles Free Music Society (LAFMS) notable collaborators with Merzbow, Wolf Eyes, John Wiese and infamous rock critic Richard Meltzer. It’s late in the evening and they have invited fellow Smegmateer David Morgan along with synthesized sculptors Brenna Murphy & Birch Cooper of MSHR, and psychedelic shape-shifters Corum & Suzanne Stone of Million Brazilians. All have arrived to share conversation in a new potent brew of Sonic Fermentations about to be set into motion. 

A distant brass vibrates to initiate ’Batch 1’ whetting the mug as we gaze through low glow haze of undulating electricity and nervous clatter. We are directly dipped into a volatile vat of saxophone trills, whistling lasers, conch moans, tense string vibrato, rattle snake shake, knife sharpening, gong burst, eastern flute, percussive clang, ratchet stir, guided all by the sway of upright bass to soothe the highly expressive ooze. Now activated, ’Batch 2’ is too mutagenic for any container, a deep drank of sci-fi exotica concoction with psychotropic effects churned by a monstrous kalimba, canned laughter, radio broadcast fritz, eerie lap steel, double reed riff, all torched in a broth of stretching electrical beams. Suspense arrives by waiting for these themes to disintegrate and dissolve steering into unrecognizable forms. Once that happens, allure clashes with grotesque, contours between exhilaration and wailing dissolve, and the music becomes a current of unified instinct by this Psychic Sounds Ensemble. Sip it or shoot it, either way will result in stimulating both head and visceral." - Karen K, psychicsounds.com

- Full color wrap-around cover
- Hand stamped & metallic screen printed interior
- Mastered by Timothy Stollenwerk



'Red Rose & Obsidian'

"Their next installment Red Rose & Obsidian was recorded in Maine and engineered by Big Blood’s Caleb Mulkerin. Both he and the band deliver a powerful yet fragile and personal release. The mythical and evocative recordings are inspired by Maine's rugged coastlines; mournful ripples of sound wash up on the shore, whilst a lonesome, at times harrowing saxophone drifts through the rolling mountains, providing unsettling melodic interludes. Electronic treatments veil organic sounds, a fleeting whistle meets spontaneously with spacey flutes, mutated rock rhythms are topped off with the soaring vocals of Suzanne who leads the listeners into the magical world of the Million Brazilians." 



  1. Hi there to everybody, it’s my first go to see of this web site; this weblog consists of awesome and in fact good stuff for visitors. Hurrah, that’s what I was exploring for, what stuff! Existing here at this blog, thanks admin of this web site. You can also visit South African Hip Hop Download for more Fakaza. related information and knowledge.

  2. Did you score 160 and above in JAMB and wish to study in any of the Nigerian Universities? Then this schoolnews is for you.


    western delta university post utme form now on sale.

    mercy college of nursing admission form now available.

    anchor university post utme form

  3. Thanks for sharing this with me


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog